About Me- Madeline Billiel

Hello, all. I’m Madeline Billiel, I usually go by Madeline or Maddie. I am from Greenfield, Ma which is in the middle of nowhere Western Mass. I am a junior and a history major with a communications minor. It was previously the other way before, but my love for history won.  This is only my second semester of officially being a history major and I really wish that I switched sooner, but glad that I ended up switching. My love for history started really young, mostly because my parents collected antiques and I thought they were wicked cool. My Dad is a big history buff and, like most dads, seem to know everything. He would tell us a bunch of facts and cool stories and I seemed to be the only one that took interests in them. For my birthday, my family always gives me Dunkin Donuts gift cards and an antique of some sort. Which is cool because I love coffee and I love old stuff. My favorite subject is probably ninetieth and early twentieth century America but that might be because it is he time period I am most familiar with. Besides history and coffee, I really love dumb jokes and dogs. I also love to read but unfortunately do not read as much as I used to. I am not quite sure what I want to do with my life just yet, but I’m sure just like all of you, would like it to involve working with history every day.

 

 

This class is the perfect mix of both my major and my minor which is one of the reasons why I decided to take it. The history and evolution of communication was always the part that I found interesting in my communication classes that were heavy on the theory. I never did like all of the theories in those classes and I really hope that this class doesn’t focus too heavily on them. Though, I did already see McLuhan under the readings that we have to do and have had to deal with him many times before. I am looking forward to going more into the history of communication and media than any of my previous communication classes. I think doing the assignments in blog form will keep it a bit more exciting than regular assignments. I don’t mind when classes are heavy on the lecture, but also like some discussion. This class seems like it is going to be a lot of fun! I am looking to this semester.

Leave a Reply

